Skip to content
LTU Awards
View original picture , opens in new tab/window


Infra Awards
The project Predictive Movementwon second place in Infra Awards in 2021.

Winner: Datatadriven innovation  
The project Predictive Movement won “Sveriges paketombud” and their data driven innovation challenge in 2020. 

IM 100 
CDT's project manager Annika Svensson was named by the organization Infrastructure Masons as one of the 100 most important people who have contributed to the industry in 2020. 

Finalist: Challengegov 
The project Predictive Movement was finalist in the  Challengegov competition in 2020.

New entrepreneur of the year 
Partner company Team Tools won “New entrepreneur of the year” at the Boden Business gala in 2020.

Norrbotten's Equality Award
Paula Wennberg at CDT was nominated to Norrbotten's Equality Award 2019.

Best Impact Maker
Team Pay was awardedbest impact maker in the Venture Cup Regional Final in Start-up, Region North 2019.

Best Spaces Award 
​SICS ICE was awarded Gold i-Spaces of 2018 from the Big Data Value Association.

Young Researcher Prize
Awarded Associate Senior Lecturer Damiano Varagnolo, Luleå University of Technology in 2015 from Norrbottens Forskningsråd.

Best Exhibitor
Awarded the CDT project USEMP during the ICT Days 2015 in Lisbon.

Spin-off of the year
The CDT spin-off company KYAB receive the award "Spin-off of the year 2013" from the Luleå University of Technology.

Bosch Software Innovation Special Prize 
Award received by the EAR-IT project at the IoT Business Pitch Contest 2013 on the IoT-Week 2013 in Helsinki.

Ericsson Patentable Invention Award
Award received by Ph D student Juwel Rana, LTU, Associate Professor Kåre Synnes, LTU and Stefan Håkansson and Johan Kristiansson at Ericsson in 2012, Sweden.

IT Personality of the Year
Dataföreningen i Norr, awarded Professor Christer Åhlund “IT personality of the year 2012”, in Skellefteå, Sweden.

Best Student Paper Award
The International Conference on Social Computing and its Applications awarded Juwel Rana, Kåre Synnes and Johan Kristiansson “Best Student Paper Award”, in November 2012, in Xiangtan, China.

Best Paper
Best paper awarded Laurynas Riliskis and Evgeny Osipov for “Analysis of the adaptive threshold vehicle detection algorithm applied to traffic vibrations” at Baltic Conference on Future Internet Communications, Riga, in 2011.

Best Idea
Awarded the research project Sense Smart City at the European summit on the future of Internet in Luxembourg, 2011.

IT Organization of the Year
Awarded CDT in year 2011 from the IT society in Norrbotten, Sweden.

Chester Carlson Prize Nomination
Finalist Mikael Sundström in 2009 by IVA for efficient compression, storage and retrieval of information.

Best Paper nomination 
Awarded Bigitta Bergvall-Kåreborn, Marita Holst and Anna Ståhlbröst for “Concept Design with a Living Lab Approach at HICSS-42 at Big Island, Hawaii, in 2009.

Received by Kimmo Yliniemi (KYAB) in 2008.

Mobile Technology of the Year 2008
Awarded Oricane in 2008.

The Competence Gala´s Great Honorary Prize
Shared by Östen Mäkitalo and Anton Abele in 2008.

European Grand Ict Prize

Awarded Operax AB in year 2007 by the European Commission.

Best Presentation Award
Awarded Mikael Sundström at ItechPartner Forum in Porto, Portugal, in 2007.

Best Paper
Awarded Christer Åhlund, Robert Brännström, Karl Andersson, and Örjan Tjernström for ”Multimedia Flow Mobility in Heterogeneous Networks Using Multihomed Mobile IPv6” at The 4th International Conference on Advances in Mobile Computing and Multimedia in Yogyakarta, Indonesia, in 2006.

Best New-Establishment In Luleå
Rubico AB, a CDT-offspring, awarded for the best new establishment in Luleå in 2006.

Competetive Regions Best Practice 3
VITAL Project selected for presentation in Magdeburg, Germany, 2005.

Best Student Paper
Awarded Anna Hedman, David Carr, Hans Nässla in year 2004 for “Browsing thumbnails: A comparison of three techniques” by ITI2004 in Croatia.

Ericsson Inventor of the Year
Awarded Krister Svanbro at Ericsson in year 2001 for Headercompression by Ericsson.

No 1 Swedish Research Project
Awarded Rocco project in 2000 by magazine Ny Teknik.

No 1 Swedish Researcher “Chester Carlson Prize”
Awarded Mikael Degermark in year 2000 for “high performance routing” by IVA.

European Grand IST Prize
Awarded Marratech AB in year 2000 in Nice by the European Commission.

Best Paper
Awarded Mikael Degermark in year 2000 for “high performance routing” by ACM/SIGCOM.

European Grand IST Prize (1st)
Awarded Effnet AB in year 1999 in Helsinki by the European Commission.

1st Prize In Swedish Innovation Cup
1998: Brodnik/Carlsson/Degermark/Pink – The Luleå Algorithm