Skip to content
Uday Kumar, professor of operations and maintenance at Luleå University of Technology, Photo: Justin Jägare View original picture , opens in new tab/window

Recieved multiple research awards

Published: 25 June 2015

Within two weeks, Uday Kumar, professor in Operation- and Maintenance Engineering at Luleå University of Technology, received double honors for his research work. During the same period, he was also elected as one of the new members of Kungliga Ingenjörsvetenskapsakademien.

During the ICRESH-ARMS Conference that was recently held  at the University, Society for Reliability and Safety (SRESA), praised Uday for his pioneering work in applied research in the areas of reliability and maintenance by awarding him with their Lifetime Achievement Award, one of India's largest prizes in the field.

One week earlier at the conference Application of Computers and Operations Research In The Mineral Industry (APCOM) held in Fairbanks, Alaska, Uday was one of 11 recipients of the APCOM Recognition Award.The award recognizes researchers who has contributed to the mining industry significantly during the last three decades.

- I am very honored that in such a short period of time receive these prices which recognizes my work in maintenance research, says Uday Kumar.

SRESA is an organization based in India that aims to promote and develop research in the filed of reliability and security. Their work includes different activities such as education, publications and meetings.

APCOM was founded in 1961 by four American universities - the University of Stanford, the University of Arizona, Pennsylvania State University and the Colorado School of Mines - with the aim of promoting the application of computers and operations research in the mineral industry. APCOM has become an international forum to present, discuss and explore state-of-the-art and emerging technologies in the mineral industry.

In addition to the two prices Uday Kumar was also elected  in early June as a member of the world's oldest engineering academy of sciences, IVA - Kungliga Ingenjörsvetenskapsakademien.