Skip to content

New Arctic collaboration

Published: 21 September 2016

Luleå University of Technology is the only Swedish university participating in a new, unique collaboration called Joint Arctic Agenda.

The universities involved in the Joint Arctic Agenda are Luleå university of Technology, UiT The Arctic University of Norway, University of Oulu and University of Lapland in Finland.

The purpose of the collaboration is to cooperate, share resources and create synergies in education, research and innovation.

­– There’s already a large interest in the Arctic and it will likely be even greater in the future. The greenhouse effect may lead to the opening of the Northeast Passage and that will make the commodities in the north available in a different way than today, says Luleå University of Technology’s Vice-Chancellor Johan Sterte. 

The historic agreement on a Joint Arctic Agenda was signed in Oulu in Finland earlier in September in the presence of Norway's King Harald and Queen Sonja and the rectors of the four universities.
– We are already one of the most prominent universities in the Arctic region. The collaboration with universities in Finland and Norway will make us even stronger, says Johan Sterte, adding:

– Together we can strengthen the research and the education in the region significantly. There are a large number of areas where we have joint and complementary skills, such as technology in a cold climate, commodities, mining and health care in rural areas.