Skip to content

Academic ceremony 2021

Published: 16 November 2021

This weekend, Luleå University of Technology was finally able to celebrate the academic successes of the last two years. The University's 50th anniversary made the framing of the academic celebration, with the installation of new professors and the awarding of prizes, extra festive. During the ceremony, all six new Honorary doctors for 2020 and 2021 were also welcomed, including cross-country ski star Charlotte Kalla and astronaut Jessica Meir.

– The assignment we received from the Parliament in 1971 at the start-up of our university was to secure important knowledge and competence for the basic industry in the north. From the beginning, this task created a culture based on regional responsibility, collaboration with external organisations and researchers, and showed the importance of our activities and our work creating societal benefits. This assignment is today more important than ever in view of the green industrial transition, and other societal actors, are facing and with the major investments that are taking place in Norrbotten and Skellefteå, said Vice-chancellor Birgitta Bergvall-Kåreborn in her speech at Saturday's academic celebration, which was held in Kulturens hus.

During the pandemic, the academic holiday has been paused and therefore new professors from both 2020 and 2021 were installed during a solemn ceremony, where prizes and scholarships were also awarded.
Jessica K. Ljungberg received the Nordea Scientific Prize and Luleå University of Technology's Medal of Merit was awarded to Erik Höglund and Karin Axelsson. From Kungliga Skytteanska Samfundet, Shiyu Geng received an award for prominent younger researchers at Luleå University of Technology.

A total of 24 new professors

In the last two years, the University has received a total of 24 new professors and six new Honorary doctors. All of the latter were on site for promotion on Saturday: astronaut Jessica Meir, cross-country skier Charlotte Kalla, entrepreneurial researcher Dean Shepherd, music creator and singer Sofia Jannok, former minister Anders Sundström and actress Sara Arnia.

The 50th anniversary ran like a common thread through the academic celebration, which also offered the distribution of the Vice-chancellor's anniversary medal, honored by Honorary doctor Anders Sundström.
During the ceremony, the guests got to listen to a string quintet and the chamber choir from the Academy of Music at Luleå University of Technology, led by conductor Erik Westberg, also a professor of musical design.

The banquet was held in Luleå Energi arena and included speeches by Charlotte Kalla, who toasted the new honorary doctors, Annelie Hedström, newly installed professor of Urban water engineering, and Vice-chancellor Birgitta Bergvall-Kåreborn who gave a look back at the University's 50-year history. Students from the School of Music at Luleå University of Technology, the men's choir Snapsakademien, Trio Biff and Kompaniet provided the entertainment. Guest chef, and for the evening absent due to illness, was Johan Lans from SPiS in Kiruna. However, he had good help from the chefs at Live restaurant, Bertil Lindgren and Josef Lundqvist. The menu consisted of Crème Ninon with tartare on salmon and herbs topped with Crémant, roast beef with juicy beef sauce, pickles, lingonberries, mashed potatoes and autumn mushrooms and light lemon meringue pastry with crackling lime sorbet, fresh raspberries, blackberries, strawberries and mint .

The university's new doctors are usually also promoted during the academic ceremony, but due to the pandemic, this will take place at a separate celebration in May 2022.