Skip to content
Kristiina Oksman-ltu
Kristiina Oksman, professor at Luleå University of Technology. View original picture , opens in new tab/window

Oksman receives Nordea Science Prize

Published: 10 November 2016

Kristiina Oksman, Professor of Wood and Bionanocomposites at Luleå University of Technology, has been awarded the Nordea Science Prize for 2016.

The prize motivation is: ”Professor Kristiina Oksman is one of Luleå University of Technology’s strongest researchers. She has published more than 120 scientific articles and has been cited more than 6000 times. Her research area is Wood and Bionanocomposites, ie composite materials based on renewable raw materials.

Kristiina Oksman recieved her PhD from Luleå University of Technology in 1997, on wood thermoplastic composites. In 2001, she was appointed as Professor at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology, NTNU. She returned to Luleå University of Technology in 2006 as Professor and Chair on Wood and Bionanocomposites at the Department of Engineering, Sciences and Mathematics.

A world-class laboratory

Under her lead, a laboratory has been built up in which world-class development, testing and analysis of new composite materials is carried out. A large number of doctors, originating from all over the world, has completed their doctoral degrees under Oksman’s tutorial. Her research group collaborates with other research groups in Sweden, Canada, the United States and Finland.

Kristiina Oksman is also a professor under the Finland Distinguished Professor Programme (FiDiPro), on Composite materials at University of Oulu, a collaborational partner to Luleå University of Technology.

Kristiina Oksman is a very worthy winner of the Nordea Science Prize in 2016."

– I'm very excited about the price! It means a lot to me to get this appreciation. I want to thank Nordea and also my research group, who is working very hard with me, says Kristiina Oksman.

Outstanding contributions

Nordea Science Prize was established in 2006 by Nordea Norrland Foundation. The prize is awarded to researchers at Luleå University of Technology that have made outstanding contributions to the promotion of scientific research and development. The awardee should also be a good representative for the university. The prize amount is SEK 100 000.

Members of the prize committee are the Vice-Chancellor of Luleå University of Technology, the deans of the two faculty boards and the manager of Nordea’s Luleå branch.