Skip to content
EU flag Photo: Pixabay

LTU becomes new European University

Published: 10 July 2020

Luleå University of Technology and four other Swedish universities have been appointed new European universities within the framework of an initiative from the European Commission.

European Universities are transnational alliances of higher education institutions from across the EU that come together for the benefit of students, teachers and society. Today The European Commission has unveiled the additional 24 European Universities that will join the first 17 alliances of higher education institutions selected already in 2019. With financial support from the Erasmus+ and Horizon 2020 programmes, they enhance the quality, inclusion, digitalisation and attractiveness of European higher education.

– We have become a European University as part of a space initiative called the European Space University of Earth and Humanity, where we collaborate with four other universities in Poland, Germany, Luxembourg and France, says Pro Vice-Chancellor Pär Weihed.
– This is very important for us. Luleå University of Technology is Sweden's space university and this strengthens our European cooperation in the field. Increased internationalization is also an important part of our vision work.

"A prestigious investment"

Karin Röding, Director General of The Swedish Council for Higher Education, finds it gratifying that a total of eleven Swedish universities are now counted as European Universities. The newly selected Swedish European Universities are Luleå University of Technology, Chalmers University of Technology, Karolinska Institutet, Linnaeus University  and Uppsala University.

– This prestigious investment means that both students and employees get new opportunities to work with internationalization and exchanges while strengthening the quality of higher education, says Karin Röding.

– I am very pleased to see that a diverse range of higher education institutions from all member states and beyond are now involved in the 41 European Universities. The COVID-19 pandemic has shown that deeper cooperation across borders, disciplines and cultures is the only way to recover from the crisis and to build resilience. These European Universities are a key building block for the European Education Area, says Mariya Gabriel, European Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth.

In the media: