Skip to content
Seated from left prof. Andrzej Cwirzen, project controller Carina Hannu, donor Sven Thysell and scholarship holder Natalia Sabourova. Standing from left scholarship holders Faez Sayahi and Yahya Ghasemi, prof. Mats Emborg, Scholarship Committee Secretary. Erik Sundström, scholarship holder Cristian Sabau, Scholarship Committee Member Jan-Erik Hallkvist, scholarship holder Cosmin Popescu, division head Martin Nilsson, senior lecturer Thomas Blanksvärd and scholarship holder Niklas Bagge. View original picture , opens in new tab/window

Sven Thysell scholarships

Published: 7 September 2015

It was the tenth time that scholarships were awarded from Elsa and Sven Thysells foundation for structural engineering studies at Luleå University of Technology and Sven Thysell himself turned 99 years two days before the conferment. The ceremony was also attended by the new chaired professor in structural engineering, Dr. Andrzej Cwirzen.

On September 4th, Sven Thysell granted scholarships to three graduate students:  Yahya Ghasemi  who studies how to proportion concrete;  Cristian Sabau who studies how to strengthen  walls in buildings so that holes  can be taken up in them;  and to Natalia Sabourova  who studies how to find weaknesses in buildings by means of vibration measurements.

Natalia Sabourova tells Sven Thysell about her vibration measurements.

The scholarship holders each received 30 000 SEK. Professor Yongming Tu was granted 20 000 SEK for his work with computer modeling of structures. Furthermore SEK 80 000 was granted for research on self-healing concrete and for upgrading of the laboratory at the Division of Structural and Construction Engineering.

In connection with the event some of last year's scholarship holders  accounted for how they had used the money they had received.

Niklas Bagge tells Sven Thysell about the testing to failure of the Mine Bridge in Kiruna. Listeners in the backgrounds are prof. Andzej Cwirzin flanked by scholarship holders Cosmin Popescu and Cristian Sabau.

Fayez Sayahi has studied cracking in young concrete, Niklas Bagge the load-carrying capacity at failure of the Mining Bridge in Kiruna and Cosmin Popescu strengthening of walls in houses.

The event was also attended by the new Chaired professor in Structural Engineering, prof. Andrzej Cwirzen. The scholarship committee consists of Sven Thysell, Erik Sundstrom, Jan-Erik Hallkvist, Mats Emborg and Lennart Elfgren.

Lennart Elfgren

Elfgren, Lennart - Professor

Organisation: Structural Engineering, Structural and Fire Engineering, Department of Civil, Environmental and Natural Resources Engineering
Phone: +46 (0)920 493660