Skip to content

Grand celebration of academic achievements

Published: 11 November 2019

In the past year, Luleå University of Technology has received 14 new professors and adjunct professors, 76 new doctors and two new honorary doctors. The achievements were celebrated at the annual Academic Ceremony.

– Luleå University of Technology is an important actor in the green transition. In our current vision, which is in its final year, the aim is to contribute to an attractive and sustainable society. Looking back over the last ten years, it is therefore with joy and pride that I can conclude that universities have contributed in a highly tangible way to a more sustainable world; environmentally, socially and economically, said Vice-Chancellor Birgitta Bergvall-Kåreborn in her speech.

At the ceremony in Aula Aurora, Luleå University of Technology's new doctors and new Honorary Doctors Thomas Öström, CEO and co-founder of the clean tech company Climeon, and Pär Lärkeryd, CEO of Norra Timber, were promoted.

The university's new professors were installed and the adjunct professors received their diplomas. In addition, prizes were awarded for prominent achievements.

Highlighted important research results

In her speech, Birgitta Bergvall-Kåreborn highlighted important research results and progress over the past decade, ranging from more sustainable mining to bio-based fuels, wood construction, smart industrial systems, artificial intelligence and robotics, innovative work in healthcare and the importance of culture for an attractive society.

– We know that sustainability and the work for a better future are a hugely important issue for our students. It is of the utmost importance that we are good role models and that our education is up to date and relevant, in this area and others, she said.

For the music at the ceremony stood the Chamber Choir of the School of Music at Luleå University of Technology with conductors William Berglund and Andrew Hermon; Jenni Halonen, flute, and the clarinet quartet Bassel Shamoun, Stina Bohlin, Richard Greenwood and José Luis Relova. The fanfare is composed by the University's senior lecturer Fredrik Högberg.

During the banquet, speeches were held by Vice-Chancellor Birgitta Bergvall-Kåreborn, new professor Jessica K. Ljungberg, new doctor Ulrica Strömbäck, Honorary Doctor Pär Lärkeryd and Governor of Norrbotten County Björn O. Nilsson.

The menu was composed by chef Sebastian Gröndal and consisted of chanterelle soup, braised moose with root vegetable terrain and vanilla bavaroise with arctic raspberries.

Trio Biff, students Charlotta Waltersson, Andreas Grönberg and David Bergdahl from the School of Music, Snapsakademien, Kompaniet and DJ Ove stood for the entertainment at the banquet.