Skip to content
Econos main
View original picture , opens in new tab/window


The European Conference on Non-linear Optical Spectroscopy (ECONOS) emerged in 2002 to widen the agenda of the former annual European CARS (Coherent Anti-Stokes Raman Scattering) workshops to cover all forms of nonlinear optical spectroscopy, theoretical and experimental studies, and applications.

Topics include, but are not limited to, CARS, and other forms of coherent Raman scattering, applications of high-order responses in the time and frequency domain, development of novel lasers sources, as well developments related to physical processes that give rise to spectral signatures in different media. Contributions on new diagnostic methods or inter-disciplinary applications in physics, chemistry, engineering, and biomedical research are particularly welcome.

Former ECONOS Meetings

ECONOS 2020/2021, Karlsruhe, Germany, September 26-29
ECONOS 2019, Rouen, France, April 7-10
ECONOS 2018, Milan, Italy, April 8-11
ECONOS 2017, Jena, Germany, April 2-5
ECONOS 2016, Göteborg, Sweden, April 24-27
ECONOS 2015, Leuven, Belgium, April 12-15
ECONOS 2014, Dole, France, May 11-14
ECONOS 2013, Exeter, UK, April 22-24
ECONOS 2012, Aberdeen, UK, July 8-11
ECONOS 2011, Enschede, Netherlands, May 23-25
ECONOS 2010, Bremen, Germany, Jun 21-23
ECONOS 2009, Frascati, Italy, May 25-27
ECONOS 2008, Igls, Austria, May 25-27
ECONOS 2007, St. Petersburg, Russia, May 12-15
ECONOS 2006, Smolenice, Slovak Republik, April 9-11
ECONOS 2005, Oxford, United Kingdom, April 10-12
ECONOS 2004, Erlangen, Germany, April 4-6
ECONOS 2003, Besancon, France, March 30,31 and April 1
ECONOS 2002, Villigen, Switzerland, March 18-19

That is not all the story, indeed, the conference is named ECONOS since 2002, and was previously called European CARS workshop, starting in 1982!

2001, Lund, Sweden
2000, Moscow, Russia
1999, Frascati, Italy
1998, Besançon, France
1997, Heidelberg, Germany
1996, Sheffield, United Kingdom
1995, Madrid, Spain
1994, Gif sur Yvette, France
1993, Villigen, Swiss
1992, Florence, Italy
1991, Garching, Germany
1990, Dijon, France
1989, Oxford, United Kingdom
1988, Pisa, Italy
1987, Stuttgard, Germany
1986, Lund, Sweden
1985, Rouen, France
1984, Harwell, United Kingdom
1983, Chatillon, France
1982, Harwell, United Kingdom

International Steering Committee Members

Ahmed Abdelmonem
Brigitte Attal-Trétout
Benoit Barviau
Per-Erik Bengtsson
Dionisio Bermejo
Pierre Joubert
Johannes Kiefer
Alexander Kouzov
Dimitrii Kozlov
Michele Marrocco
Arnulf Materny
Julian Moger
Herman Offerhaus
Dario Polli
Peter Radi
Monika Ritsch-Marte
Marteen Roeffaers
Michael Schmitt
Thomas Seeger
Aleksei Zheltikov

Local Organizing Committee

Alexis Bohlin

Anette Snällfot-Brändström