MPES 2017


Starts 29 August 2017, at 08:00
Ends 31 August 2017, at 16:00
City Luleå
Location Luleå University of Technology



MPES 2017

[ /cms_fs/1.158275!/file/MPES%202017%20-%20Call%20for%20paper%20-%20Final%20v6.docx]

MPES 2017



  • Economic  and Technical Feasibility Studies, Reserve Estimation, Mine Development Case Studies
  • Design, Planning and Optimization of Surface and Underground Mines inc. Transition from surface to underground mining
  • Drilling, Blasting, Tunneling and Excavation Engineering
  • New and Innovative Materials Handling Equipment
  • Mining Equipment Selection
  • Mine Automation and Information Technology, Industrial Internet
  • •Maintenance and Production Management for Mines and Mining Systems
  • Mining: Health, Safety and Environment
  • Rock Mechanics and Geotechnical Applications
  • Research & Development to Improve Health, Safety & Productivity  in Mines
  • Environmental Issues in Surface and Underground Mining of Metalliferous, Coal, Uranium, Industrial Minerals.
  • Control of Effluents from Mineral Processing, Metallurgical and Chemical Plants
  • Reliability of Waste Containment Structures, Tailings Treatment, Recycle, Disposal, and Decommissioning
  • Geographical Information Systems (GIS) and Remote Sensing


Division of Mining and Geotechnical Engineering and Division of Operation and Maintenance Engineering, Luleå University of Technology, Sweden; Division of Geosciences and Environmental Engineering Luleå University of Technology - Sweden; Department of Mining, Metallurgical and Materials Engineering, Universite Laval; China University of Mining and Technology, Beijing; The National Technical University of Athens, Greece (NTUA); Dipartimento di Geoingegneria e Tecnologie AMBIENTALI, Universita degli Studi di Cagliari, Italy; Western Australian School of Mines, Curtin University of Technology, Australia, the National Mining University of Ukraine, Dnipropetrovsk; International Journal of Mining, Reclamation and Environment; American Society of Mining and Reclamation; Istanbul University, Engineering Faculty-Mining Engineering Department,; Faculty of Mining and Geology, VSB - Technical University, Ostrava, Czech Republic; Hokkaido University, Mineral Resources Engineering Department, Japan; Faculty Geoengineering, Mining and Geology, Wroclaw University of Technology, Poland; Department of Mining, Metals and Materials, McGill University; Department of Energy and Geo-Environmental Engineering, DIGET- Politech Nico di Torino, Italy; Mining Engineering Department, University of British Columbia; Middle East Technical University Mining Engineering Department, Turkey; Division of Mining & Resources Engineering Dept. of Civil Engineering, Monash University, Australia; Istanbul University; Department of Landscape Ecology, Faculty of Environmental Sciences, Czech University of Life Sciences, Czech Republic, Tallinn University of Technology; Virginia Tech, USA; Finnish Environment Institute (SYKE), Finland;

Dr. Raj Singhal, Canada

Chairmen MPES 2017
Prof. Uday Kumar (
Prof. Håkan Schunnesson (

Assoc. Prof. Behzad Ghodrati, LTU

Organizing Committee CHAIR
Assoc. Prof. Jenny Greberg, LTU

Alexandra Lund Cipolla, LTU

Prof. Anders Lagerkvist, Sweden
Professor Monika Hardygóra, Poland
Prof. Atac Bascetin, Turkey
Prof. Hideki Shimada, Japan
Prof Morteza Osanloo, Iran
Professor Cuthbert Musingwini, South Africa
Dr. Petr Sklenicka, Czech Republic
Prof. Hu Zhenqi, China
Prof. Michael Hitch, Australia
Prof. Richard Poulin, Canada
Prof. S. Frimpong, US

INTERNATIONAL Organizing Committee
Prof. Ernest Baafi, Australia
Prof. Sukumar Bandopadhyay, United States
Assoc. Prof. Lale Andreas, Sweden
Dr. Z. Bzowski, Poland
Dr. Carmen Mihaela Neculita, Canada
Prof. Josee Duchesne, Canada
Dr. Lidia Gawlik, Poland
Prof. Hao Ge, China
Dr. Noune Melkoumian Australia
Prof. Gurdeep Singh, India
Prof. Giorgio Massacci, Italy
Dr. Maria Menegaki, Greece
Prof. Toyoharu Nawa, Japan
Dr. Antonio Nieto, United States
Dr. Bernadette O'Regan, Ireland
Prof. Kostas Phytase, Canada
Ms. M. Singhal, Canada
Prof. Svetlana V. Yefremova, Kazakhstan
Prof. AB Szwilski, United States
Dr. Young Wook Cheong, South Korea
Prof. Mauricio L Torem, Brazil
Prof. Vladimir Kebo, Czech Republic
Dr. Valentina Dentoni, Italy
Prof. Takashi Sasaoka, Japan
Dr. Robert Hall, England
Dr. Gento Mogi, Japan
Dr. Mohan Yellishetty, Australia
Prof. Celal Karpuz, Turkey
Dr. Joerg Benndorf, Netherlands
Prof. George N. Panagiotou, Greece
Prof. Nick Vayenas, Canada
Prof. Marilena Cardu, Italy
Dr. Sunniva Haugen, Sweden
Dr. Asieh Hekmat, Chile
Dr. Eleonora.Widzyk-Capehart, Australia
Prof. Rodrigo Pascual, Chile
Dr. Luis Guilherme Uzeda Garcia, Brazil
Dr. Vidal Torres, Brazil
Dr. NurayDemirel, Turkey
Prof. Hani Mitri, Canada
Dr. Kristina Janeckova, Czech Republic
Dr. Sanjay Kumar Shukla, Australia

Page Editor and Contact: Andreas Eitzenberger

Published: 14 October 2016

Updated: 9 February 2017


Luleå University of Technology is experiencing strong growth with world-leading competence in several areas of research. Our research is conducted in close cooperation with companies such as Bosch, Ericsson, Scania, LKAB, SKF and leading international universities. Luleå University of Technology has a total turnover of SEK 1.6 billion per year. We currently have 1,700 employees and 15,000 students.


Luleå University of Technology • 971 87 Luleå • Corporate Identity: 202100-2841
Phone: +46 (0)920 49 10 00 • Fax: +46 (0)920 49 13 99 • Student Reception Desk: 0920-49 20 00
E-mail: General questionsQuestions regarding studiesAbout this website
© Luleå University of Technology 2017