Skip to content

Awards to alumni and innovators

Published: 7 November 2018

– Studying space engineering at Luleå University of Technology is the best thing I have done. Dare to follow your dreams and your heart!, said a proud Ella Carlsson Sjöberg when she accepted the award Alumni of the year at Luleå University of Technology, a title she shares with Jonas Gustavsson.

Alumni of the year 2018 at Luleå University of Technology are Ella Carlsson Sjöberg, Acting director of The Swedish Institute of Space Physics (IRF), and Jonas Gustavsson, President and CEO of ÅF, a global company with 10,000 employees and offices in over 30 countries.

This Tuesday, they were at Vetenskapens hus in Luleå to accept the awards from the university's vice-chancellor Birgitta Bergvall-Kåreborn.

Ella Carlsson Sjöberg praised her "amazing teachers" at the university's master programme in space engineering, as well as her co-students and all activities during and after school hours in Luleå and Kiruna.

"I had fantastic years"

Jonas Gustavsson told the audience about he as ”a passionate young cross country skier from Värmland” in the early 90’s stuffed his belongings into a Volvo 240 and drove to Luleå to start studying at the master programme in mechanical engineering.

– I had fantastic years at Porsön. Everything was good! The teachers, the education, the winter, the snow, the skiing... I actually planned to stay in Luleå after graduating, but ended up at ABB in Switzerland.

Jonas Gustavsson has a strong commitment to get more women interested in becoming engineers. During his visit in Luleå, he lunched with six of the university's civil engineer students to hear their thoughts about how more women can be interested in the profession.

– It's incredibly inspiring to meet these energetic, powerful and visionary students. We at ÅF recognize the importance of skills supply, mixed teams and that there are too homogeneous groups when there are no women. Personally, I feel stronger and stronger for this issue. We have to open up and get more women to become engineers, he says.

During the ceremony in Vetenskapens hus, Luleå University of Technology's researchers Stina Rutberg and Anna-Karin Lindqvist were awarded as "Innovators of the year", and Luleå Municipality won the Collaboration Prize.