Skip to content
Fredrik Högberg
Fredrik Högberg

Fredrik Högberg

Senior Lecturer
Luleå University of Technology
Musical Performance
Music, Media and Theatre
Department of Social Sciences, Technology and Arts
+46 (0)920 491287
H105 Piteå

Fredrik Karl Kristian Högberg, born 5 February 1971 in Vellinge, Sweden, is a Swedish composer and producer.[1][2] He resides in the old courthouse in NylandÅngermanland (mid-Sweden).[3]

Fredrik Högberg grew up in Svedala, southern Sweden, and studied at the Folk High School of Framnäs, Piteå 1987–1991. Högberg has studied composition mainly with professor Jan Sandström at Piteå School of Music (a part of Luleå University of Technology).[1] He earned a licentiate degree in performing arts at Luleå University of Technology 2012. He teaches composition at Piteå School of Music since 2015.[4]

From the early 2000 Högberg has worked mainly with works that contains multimedia, like the music film Brassbones – a brass western(2001)[5] and the concertos Ice Concerto (2012)[6] and The Accordion King (2014).[6]

Works like Dancing with Silent Purpose and Rocky Island Boat Bay are examples of Högberg's humorous approach to his musical creation, and his inclination to combine contemporary art music with elements of popular music.[7][8][9]

Högberg's work is not seldom controversial; while working with the Ice Concerto Högberg shot burning pianos being dropped from 40 metres onto the ice of Ångermanälven.[10] He was charged with environmental crimes, which were later dropped.[11][12] 2016 he wrote the music (in collaboration with singer/songwriter Nicolai Dunger) for the critically acclaimed opera Stilla min eld, inspired by the circumstances of Eva Rausings death in Belgravia, London, 2012.[13][14][15][16]

Fredrik Högberg has collaborated with soloists as, among others, Christian LindbergAnders PaulssonJörgen SundeqvistNiklas SivelövØystein BaadsvikOle Edvard Antonsen and Martin Fröst, Sebastian Stevensson, Isabelle van Keulen and many international orchestras and ensembles which has led to several acclaimed works.[17][18][19][20]

Högberg's production is published by Gehrman's musikförlag, Stockholm. His trombone music is published by Edition Tarrodi.[21]