Skip to content

Focus on the Arctic - Joint Arctic Agenda

Published: 29 March 2017

Luleå University of Technology is participating in a new, unique collaboration together with Norway and Finland about the Arctic. An agreement on a "Joint Arctic Agenda" between Luleå University of Technology, Norwegian University in Tromsoe, University of Lapland in Rovaniemi in Finland, the University of Oulu in Finland and Umeå University, has been signed. The universities together form "the Arctic Five".

Luleå University of Technology has an Arctic profile with many years of research related to the Arctic, in areas such as Civil Engineering, Energy Engineering, Mining- and Natural Resources Engineering and Medical and Health Sciences.

In all cases, the research is done in interdisciplinary constellations. One example is Mining Engineering where research in fields such as Economics, Law, Human Work science and Health expand and enhance traditional Mining Engineering, to best handle future challenges in a sustainable mining in the Arctic.

In the Arctic eight countries are included: Denmark (with Greenland and the Faroe Islands), Finland, Iceland, Canada, Norway, Russia, Sweden and the USA (Alaska). As well within the EU as globally, there is a strong desire to focus research in the Arctic on how natural resources such as oil, gas and minerals can be utilized in a sustainable manner. The Arctic is a sensitive area of great importance for the whole world. With a growing climate crisis, it is important that research related to climate change and renewable energy, is enhanced, and there are areas that already are in focus at Luleå University of Technology.

Related article